- We priced 15 business checking accounts for four business types over three years, from each provider’s fee schedule.
- New freelancer: nine accounts cost $0 a year. Relay ranks first; Chase, Wells Fargo and Capital One cost $150 to $180 a year if your balance sits below $2,000.
- Business depositing $4,000 cash a month: Relay costs $0 through Allpoint+ ATMs, and five big banks cost $0 because the profile’s balance or debit card spend meets their fee waiver. Bluevine costs $408 and Lili about $619.
- Online seller sending three wires a month: Mercury costs $0; most big banks cost $900 to $1,260 a year, almost all of it wire fees.
- Small LLC or S corp with two wires out: Mercury and Axos cost $0, Relay $192; big banks cost $720 to $1,020.
This page is for US sole proprietors, LLC owners and small corporations choosing an everyday business checking account. Instead of listing features, we took four realistic businesses, wrote down what each one does with its account in a month, and priced that activity at 15 providers using their published fee schedules.
By the end you will know which account is cheapest for a business like yours, what the cheap accounts give up, how to stay clear of the monthly fee at a big bank, and what FDIC insurance means when your “bank” is an app.
What does a business checking account really cost in a year?
Less than the headline monthly fee suggests, or a lot more, depending on two things: whether you meet the fee waiver, and how often you send wires or deposit cash.
Three patterns repeat across the four profiles. First, an account with a $15 monthly fee is free if your balance clears the bank’s threshold, and costs $180 a year if it does not. Second, outgoing wires are the most expensive routine item: $25 to $30 each online at most big banks, $8 at Relay, $0 at Mercury, and effectively $0 for the first two a month at Axos. Third, cash splits the fintechs: Relay takes it free, Bluevine, Found and Lili charge, and Mercury, Novo and Axos do not take it.
How did we rank the accounts?
Each account gets a score from 0 to 10. More than half of it is cost; the rest rewards the things that matter when something goes wrong or the business grows.
Fees come from each provider’s fee schedule, account guide or pricing page, checked October 25, 2026. Every account is priced month by month for 36 months, so introductory waivers (Chase and Wells Fargo: first two statement cycles; PNC: three months; Bank of America: 12 cycles) are applied exactly. A monthly-fee waiver counts only when the profile actually meets it. Outgoing wires use the online price where the bank publishes one. Unpublished fees are priced with a stated conservative assumption and marked with an asterisk. Score weights: yearly cost 55, monthly fee if you miss the waiver 10, FDIC structure 10 (bank 10, fintech through a partner bank 8), accounting and invoicing tools 10, cost of depositing $1,000 in cash 10 (no cash deposits = 0), wire fees 5. The cash criterion counts only for the business that deposits cash; for the other three profiles its weight is spread over the other criteria in proportion to their weights, so cost carries 61% of their score.
| Activity | New freelancer | Cash business | Online seller | Small LLC / S corp |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legal form | Sole proprietor | LLC | LLC | LLC or S corp |
| ACH payments received | 4 | 24 | 45 | 10 |
| Electronic payments out | 6 | 12 | 10 | 15 |
| Paper checks written | 0 | 4 | 0 | 2 |
| Debit card purchases | 15 ($300) | 25 ($1,200) | 40 ($1,000) | 20 ($600) |
| Cash deposited | $0 | $4,000 in 8 deposits | $0 | $0 |
| Domestic wires out / in | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 3 / 0 | 2 / 1 |
| Average balance | $1,500 | $6,000 | $4,000 | $10,000 |
| Lowest daily balance | $400 | $2,500 | $1,500 | $6,000 |
Payments out other than wires are assumed to go through free channels: online bill pay, autopay debits, Zelle where offered, and the debit card. They still count toward transaction allowances. Paid ACH-origination services, checkbook printing, overdraft and stop-payment fees are not priced.
NorthOne is skipped: its website now redirects to Relay and publishes no fees. Mercury’s FAQ asks for a company formed and registered in the US, with formation documents; we could not confirm on an official Mercury page whether sole proprietorships qualify, so it is left out of the freelancer table.
Which business checking account is cheapest for a new freelancer?
For a sole proprietor with a small balance and no cash, nine accounts cost nothing at all: Relay, Bluevine, U.S. Bank Silver, Found, PNC, Truist, Lili, Axos and Novo. The order among them comes from the rest of the score: tools, cash options, wire fees and FDIC structure.
| # | Account | Year 1 | Each year after | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Relay Business Checking (Starter plan) | $0 | $0 | 9.7 |
| 2 | Bluevine Business Checking (Standard plan) | $0 | $0 | 9.6 |
| 3 | Axos Bank Basic Business Checking | $0 | $0 | 9.3 |
| 4 | Novo Novo Business Checking | $0 | $0 | 9.2 |
| 5 | Lili Lili Core (free plan) | $0 | $0 | 9.1 |
PNC is the only big-bank account in the free group, and only because its waiver threshold is low: a $500 average monthly collected balance, after three fee-free months. Miss it and you pay $12 a month. U.S. Bank Silver and Truist Simple have no monthly fee, but U.S. Bank’s product page now points to a newer account called Business Essentials, so check which one you are actually offered.
The big names are where a new freelancer overpays. Chase Business Complete and Wells Fargo Initiate both charge $15 a month after two free statement cycles and waive it only with a $2,000 minimum daily balance (Wells Fargo also accepts a $5,000 average). With a $400 low point, that is $150 in year one and $180 after. Capital One costs $180 a year below a $2,000 average. Bank of America is free for 12 statement cycles, then $16 a month ($192 a year) unless you average $5,000 or spend $500 a month on the business debit card. TD Business Simple has no balance waiver: $120 a year.
- Freelancers who want $0 fees, QuickBooks and Xero connections, and basic invoicing on the free Starter plan.
- Anyone who might deposit cash later: Allpoint+ ATM deposits are $0.
- Owners who like separate accounts for taxes and expenses (up to 20 checking accounts).
- Anyone who needs a branch or a banker in person.
- Businesses wanting interest on checking: Relay pays interest only in its savings accounts (1.19% APY on Starter as of September 17, 2026, variable).
- Owners who want recurring invoices, which need the $30-a-month Grow plan.
Relay is a financial technology company, not a bank; banking services are provided by Thread Bank, Member FDIC. If you prefer a bank in the legal sense, the cheapest options for this profile are U.S. Bank Silver, Truist Simple, Axos Basic Business and, with $500 in the account, PNC.
Which account suits a business that deposits cash?
A café, salon or food truck banking $4,000 of cash a month is the one profile where branch banks hold their own. Most big-bank accounts include $5,000 of free cash deposits a month, and this profile’s $2,500 low balance is enough to waive the monthly fee at Chase, Wells Fargo, Capital One and PNC. Bank of America waives it either with a $5,000 average or with $500 of debit card purchases.
| # | Account | Year 1 | Each year after | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Relay Business Checking (Starter plan) | $0 | $0 | 9.7 |
| 2 | PNC PNC Business Checking | $0 | $0 | 8.9 |
| 3 | Chase Business Complete Banking | $0 | $0 | 8.6 |
| 4 | Wells Fargo Initiate Business Checking | $0 | $0 | 8.4 |
| 5 | U.S. Bank Silver Business Checking The Silver product page now redirects to U.S. Bank's business checking hub, which lists Business Essentials ($0) instead; the August 2026 pricing document still prices Silver. | $63 | $63 | 8.4 |
| 6 | Bank of America Business Advantage Fundamentals Banking | $0 | $0 | 8.2 |
Relay ranks first at $0 because cash deposited at Allpoint+ ATMs is free, up to $1,000 per deposit. That suits eight $500 deposits, not a bag of coins or $3,000 after a busy weekend.
Two accounts charge this profile for cash. U.S. Bank Silver counts cash in “units” of $100 and includes 25 free units a month:
- Cash deposited a month
- $4,000 = 40 units
- Free units
- 25
- 15 extra units × $0.35
- $5.25 a month
U.S. Bank Silver, cash fees a year$63
Truist Simple includes only $2,000 of cash, then charges $0.31 per $100, which adds $74.40 a year. Its 50-transaction allowance also includes debit card purchases, so this profile’s 75 transactions add $150 a year. Total: $224.40.
Bluevine charges $4.95 per Green Dot deposit or $1 plus 0.5% at Allpoint ATMs: about $336 a year for this profile. Lili’s Green Dot deposits carry a retailer fee of up to $4.95 each (about $475 a year at that maximum). Found gives one free deposit a month, then charges $2.00, but caps cash at $4,000 per rolling 30 days, exactly this profile’s monthly cash. Mercury and Novo do not take cash, and Axos publishes no way to deposit it.
- Cash businesses near a Chase branch: cash at Chase ATMs is unlimited and free, and branch deposits include $5,000 a month.
- Owners who keep at least $2,000 in the account every day, which waives the $15 fee.
- Anyone who wants to deal with a banker in a branch.
- Businesses whose balance dips below $2,000 even for one day in a statement period: that month costs $15.
- Wire senders: $25 per online wire, $35 at a branch, and $15 for each incoming wire unless the sender also used Chase.
- Owners who want a direct bank feed into QuickBooks: Chase’s free QuickBooks sync covers card-processing data, not the checking account.
Which account is cheapest for an online seller?
An online seller receives dozens of small payouts from Shopify, Amazon, Etsy, Stripe or PayPal. Those incoming ACH payments are free everywhere in our data. What separates the accounts is the three domestic wires this profile sends each month, to a supplier or freight forwarder.
| # | Account | Year 1 | Each year after | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mercury Business checking (free plan) | $0 | $0 | 9.8 |
| 2 | Axos Bank Basic Business Checking | $180 | $180 | 8.6 |
| 3 | Relay Business Checking (Starter plan) | $288 | $288 | 8.5 |
| 4 | Bluevine Business Checking (Standard plan) | $540 | $540 | 7.4 |
| 5 | Lili Lili Core (free plan) Lili may restrict outgoing wires for new customers in the first 30 days. | $540 | $540 | 6.9 |
Online seller: yearly cost after any intro period
45 payouts in, 3 domestic wires out a month, $4,000 average balance
Here is how the Chase figure is built, so you can redo it with your own numbers:
- Monthly fee: $15 × 10 (first 2 cycles waived; $1,500 low balance misses the $2,000 waiver)
- $150
- Online wires: 3 × $25 × 12
- $900
Chase, year one$1,050
From year two the monthly fee runs all twelve months, so the ongoing cost is $1,080. Bank of America lands on the same $1,080, but for a different reason: this profile’s $1,000 of monthly debit card spend waives the $16 fee, and all of it is wires at $30. PNC is the outlier at $3,420 a year: it publishes only a $95 branch wire fee, not an online price, so we priced every wire at $95 and marked the row as an estimate.
- LLCs and corporations that send domestic wires or same-day ACH often: both are free on the $0 plan.
- Sellers who keep their books in QuickBooks Online, Xero or NetSuite.
- Founders who want unlimited invoices and US-dollar international wires without a fee.
- Sole proprietors: Mercury asks for formation documents, so plan on forming an LLC first.
- Anyone who handles cash: Mercury does not take cash deposits at all.
- Sellers who collect by ACH debit through Mercury invoices: each received debit costs $1 on the free plan. Recurring invoices need Plus at $29.90 a month.
Mercury is a financial technology company, not a bank; banking services are provided by Choice Financial Group and Column N.A., Members FDIC. If you would rather hold the account at a bank, Axos Basic Business reimburses two $15 domestic wire fees a month, so this profile’s third wire costs $15: $180 a year.
Which account suits a small LLC or S corp that sends wires?
This profile keeps $10,000 on average, never drops below $6,000, sends two domestic wires and receives one each month. That balance waives the monthly fee at every big bank in our data except TD, so the ranking is decided almost entirely by wire fees.
| # | Account | Year 1 | Each year after | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mercury Business checking (free plan) | $0 | $0 | 9.8 |
| 2 | Axos Bank Basic Business Checking | $0 | $0 | 9.3 |
| 3 | Relay Business Checking (Starter plan) | $192 | $192 | 8.7 |
| 4 | Bluevine Business Checking (Standard plan) | $396 | $396 | 7.5 |
| 5 | Found Found (free plan) | $384 | $384 | 6.9 |
Mercury and Axos both cost $0: Mercury because domestic wires are free in both directions, Axos because it reimburses two outgoing wire fees a month and charges nothing for incoming wires. Mercury ranks first on its fuller tools; Axos suits you if you want a bank, not a fintech. Relay costs $192 a year ($8 per wire) and ranks third.
At the big banks, the same 36 wires a year cost $720 to $1,020. Chase and Capital One charge $25 per outgoing wire plus $15 per incoming wire ($780 a year), Wells Fargo charges $30 online and nothing for incoming wires on Initiate ($720), and Truist charges $20 online but counts wires and card purchases toward 50 free transactions ($678).
- Businesses that want an actual FDIC-insured bank, not a fintech, with no monthly fee and no balance requirement.
- Anyone sending up to two domestic wires a month: the $15 fees are reimbursed.
- Owners who use other banks’ ATMs: domestic ATM fees are reimbursed without a cap.
- Cash businesses: Axos publishes no way to deposit cash.
- Owners who want invoicing in the banking app: none is listed for this account.
- Anyone who wants Xero: only QuickBooks is listed.
An S corp running payroll will also send federal tax deposits through EFTPS, the Treasury’s free payment system, which debits the business account by ACH. That costs nothing at any account here, but it counts as a transaction where allowances apply. If EFTPS or IRS Direct Pay is unreachable close to a due date, our IRS status page shows whether it is a wider outage, and the federal deadlines calendar lists the dates. For an LLC-specific look at the same accounts, see the best business checking account for an LLC.
How do you avoid the monthly fee at a big bank?
Every big-bank account here except TD has a published fee waiver. Read the wording: a “minimum daily balance” fails if the account dips below the line on any single day, while an “average balance” only needs the month’s average to clear it.
| Account | Fee | Intro | Waived with any one of |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chase Business Complete | $15 | First 2 fees waived | $2,000 minimum daily ending balance; other routes need Chase merchant services, a Chase Ink card or a linked personal account |
| Bank of America Fundamentals | $16 | First 12 cycles | $5,000 combined average balance; $500 of debit card purchases; Preferred Rewards for Business |
| Wells Fargo Initiate | $15 | Fee periods ending in the first 64 days | $2,000 minimum daily balance; $5,000 average combined business balance |
| Capital One Business Basic | $15 | None | $2,000 average ledger balance (30- or 90-day, whichever is greater) |
| PNC Business Checking | $12 | First 3 months | $500 average collected balance; other routes need a PNC credit card or merchant account |
| TD Business Simple | $10 | None | No balance waiver (nonprofits only) |
| U.S. Bank Silver, Truist Simple, Axos and the fintech free plans | $0 | n/a | Nothing to waive |
- Find your real low point. Look at three months of statements and note the lowest daily balance, not the average. Payroll day and tax day are usually when it happens.
- Match the waiver type to your pattern. If your balance swings, an average-balance waiver (Capital One, PNC, the Wells Fargo $5,000 route, Bank of America) is easier to meet than a minimum daily balance (Chase, the Wells Fargo $2,000 route).
- Use the debit card route only if it is real spending. Bank of America’s $500 debit card rule is easy for a business that buys supplies on the card.
- Count the intro period honestly. Bank of America’s 12 free cycles make year one look free; our ongoing column shows what you pay from year two.
Missing a $15 waiver every month costs $180 a year. If you cannot keep the balance reliably, a $0 account is cheaper.
New business account offers, fee changes and deadlines, in one short email.
Is a fintech business account as safe as a bank account?
For deposit insurance, the structure matters more than the brand. The FDIC insures deposits up to $250,000 per depositor, per insured bank, per ownership category. Deposits of an LLC or corporation are insured as a separate category from the owners’ personal accounts. Deposits of a sole proprietorship are not: the FDIC treats them as the owner’s single accounts, added to any personal single accounts at the same bank.
Seven of the providers here are financial technology companies, not banks. Their accounts are held at partner banks: Relay at Thread Bank, Mercury at Choice Financial Group and Column N.A., Bluevine at Coastal Community Bank, Found at Lead Bank, Novo at Middlesex Federal Savings, F.A., and Lili at Sunrise Banks, N.A., each Member FDIC. The FDIC is direct about what this means: nonbank companies themselves are never FDIC-insured. Your money can qualify for “pass-through” coverage once it sits at the partner bank, but only if the fintech keeps records showing who owns each dollar. That coverage protects you if the partner bank fails. It does not protect you if the fintech itself fails.
This does not make a fintech account unsafe. It means one more company sits between you and the insured bank.
The fintech accounts:
| Account | Monthly fee | How to waive it | Wire out | Cash deposits | Protection |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RelayBusiness Checking (Starter plan) | FreeStarter $0/mo; Grow $30/mo; Scale $120/mo (temporarily $90) | Nothing to waiveno monthly fee on this plan | $8.00Starter $8; Grow $5 | Allpoint+ ATMs $0; Green Dot retailers up to $4.95 (retailer fee)Allpoint+ $1,000/transaction; Green Dot $500/transaction ($1,000 Walmart), $1,500/day | FDICvia Thread Bank |
| MercuryBusiness checking (free plan) | FreeMercury plan $0/mo; Plus $29.90/mo; Pro $299/mo | Nothing to waiveno monthly fee on this plan | Free | Not supported'We don't currently support cash deposits' (incl. at ATMs) | FDICvia Choice Financial Group; Column N.A. |
| BluevineBusiness Checking (Standard plan) | FreeStandard $0/mo; Plus $30/mo, Premier $95/mo (waivable) | Nothing to waiveno monthly fee on this plan | $15.00Standard plan; $12 on Plus, $7.50 on Premier | Green Dot retailers $4.95 per deposit; Allpoint+ ATMs $1 + 0.5% per deposit | FDICvia Coastal Community Bank |
| FoundFound (free plan) | FreeFound $0/mo; Found Plus $35/mo ($315/yr), Found Pro $80/mo ($720/yr) | Nothing to waiveno monthly fee on this plan | $15.00$15/wire on Found and Found Plus; $10 on Found Pro | 1 free cash deposit per month at participating retailers, then $2.00 per deposit | FDICvia Lead Bank |
| LiliLili Core (free plan) | Free | Nothing to waiveno monthly fee on this plan | $15.00new customers may be restricted for first 30 days | Cash deposits at Green Dot participating retailers; Lili charges no fee, retailer fee up to $4.95 | FDICvia Sunrise Banks, N.A. |
| NovoNovo Business Checking | Free | Nothing to waiveno monthly fee on this plan | $45.00'Up to $45.00' per fee schedule; Novo says third-party provider fee is shown before sending | No direct cash deposit; buy a money order (e.g., USPS, grocery store) and deposit via mobile check deposit | FDICvia Middlesex Federal Savings, F.A. |
Fees from each bank's published fee schedule, checked October 25, 2026. Sorted by the monthly fee after any introductory period. Fee schedules change; the bank's own document always prevails. Fintechs are not banks: FDIC insurance applies through their partner bank.
The bank accounts:
| Account | Monthly fee | How to waive it | Wire out | Cash deposits | Protection |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChaseBusiness Complete Banking | $15.00 a month | Any one per statement period: $2,000 minimum daily ending balance; OR $2,000 in eligible Chase Payment Solutions deposits (QuickAccept, InstaMed etc.); OR $2,000 eligible purchases on Chase Ink / Sapphire Reserve for Business card; OR linked Chase Private Client Checking / JPMorgan Classic Checking / Private Client Checking Plus; OR Chase Military Banking. | $25.00$25 online (chase.com) / $35 branch. International USD $40 online, $50 branch. | $5,000 per statement period free (branch/night deposit); 0.30% of the amount above $5,000. Cash deposited at a Chase ATM: unlimited, no charge.e.g. $5,100 deposited -> $0.30 fee. | FDIC |
| Bank of AmericaBusiness Advantage Fundamentals Banking | $16.00 a month$0 for the first 12 statement cycles. | Any one per statement cycle: $5,000 combined average monthly balance in eligible linked business deposit accounts; OR $500+ in new net qualified purchases on BofA business debit card(s); OR Preferred Rewards for Business member (first 4 checking accounts). | $30.00$30 per domestic outgoing wire (same $30 via online banking per Online Banking Service Agreement). International outgoing in USD $45; in foreign currency no fee (FX markup). | First $5,000 cash deposited per statement cycle (ATM or Financial Center) free, then $0.30 per $100. | FDIC |
| Wells FargoInitiate Business Checking | $15.00 a monthWaived for fee periods ending in the first 64 days. | Any one per fee period: $2,000 minimum daily balance; OR $5,000 average combined business deposit balance; OR own a Premier Checking, Private Bank Checking or Private Bank Interest Checking account. | $30.00$30 digital wire / $40 branch wire; standing transfer order $25. | First $5,000 per fee period free, then $0.30 per $100. | FDIC |
| Capital OneBusiness Basic Checking | $15.00 a month | $2,000 minimum 30-day or 90-day average monthly ledger balance (whichever is greater).Also waived for up to 2 Basic accounts if you hold Business Enhanced Checking; can be waived for nonprofits. | $25.00No online vs branch distinction published. Foreign outgoing $40 (foreign currency) / $50 (USD). | Up to $5,000/month in teller cash deposits free, then $1 per $1,000.Cash deposits at Capital One and select Allpoint ATMs don't count and are free. | FDIC |
| PNCPNC Business Checking | $12.00 a month | Any one: $500 average monthly collected balance; OR $500 eligible purchases on linked PNC business credit card; OR $500 qualifying monthly deposits from linked PNC Merchant Account. | $95.00$95 branch-initiated domestic wire; online-initiated business wire fee not published. | $5,000/month free (over-the-counter, night depository, Quick Deposit), then $0.30 per $100. | FDIC |
| U.S. BankSilver Business Checking | Free | Nothing to waiveno monthly fee on this plan | $30.00$30 digital non-repetitive / $40 branch / $45-50 voice. | 25 free cash deposit units per month (1 unit = $100, deposits <$150 = 1 unit), then $0.35 per $100. | FDIC |
| TruistTruist Simple Business Checking | Free | Nothing to waiveno monthly fee on this plan | $20.00$20 via Truist Online Banking wire service / $65 branch-initiated. | Up to $2,000/month free, then $0.0031 per $1 (= $0.31 per $100). | FDIC |
| TD BankTD Business Simple Checking | $10.00 a month | Not stated | $30.00No online vs branch split published; international outgoing $50. | First $5,000 per statement cycle free, then $0.30 per $100. | FDIC |
| Axos BankBasic Business Checking | Free | Nothing to waiveno monthly fee on this plan | $15.00 | Not stated | FDIC |
Fees from each bank's published fee schedule, checked October 25, 2026. Sorted by the monthly fee after any introductory period. Fee schedules change; the bank's own document always prevails. Fintechs are not banks: FDIC insurance applies through their partner bank.
What does this ranking leave out?
- Loans, lines of credit and credit cards. We do not cover them, and we never assume a card-based fee waiver (Chase Ink, PNC business credit card) because that would require a credit product.
- Sign-up bonuses. A $300 or $500 bonus can outweigh a year of fees, but bonuses end, have deposit and timing rules, and are taxable as interest (reported on Form 1099-INT or 1099-MISC). We track them separately on business checking bonuses.
- Interest. Not counted. Bluevine’s Standard plan pays 1.3% APY on checking balances up to $250,000 if you meet a monthly activity goal; most big-bank accounts here pay nothing on checking.
- International wires, foreign exchange and merchant processing. Out of scope for this page.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest business checking account in 2026?
It depends on what you do with it. For a new freelancer with no cash, nine accounts cost $0 a year. For a business that sends several wires a month, Mercury costs $0 and Axos is $0 for up to two outgoing wires a month. For a cash business, Relay costs $0 if $1,000-or-less deposits at Allpoint+ ATMs work for you, and several big banks cost $0 with the right balance.
Can a sole proprietor open a business checking account without an LLC?
Yes, at every provider in this ranking except possibly Mercury, which asks for a company formed and registered in the US with formation documents. The FDIC insures a sole proprietorship’s deposits together with your personal single accounts at the same bank.
Does the ranking reward cash deposits if my business never handles cash?
No. The cash criterion counts only in the profile that deposits cash. In the other three profiles its 10% weight is spread over cost, the monthly fee without conditions, FDIC structure, tools and wires, so you are not scored on a cash option you would never use.
Are fintech business accounts FDIC insured?
The fintech company is not insured; your deposits can be, through its partner bank, under the FDIC’s pass-through rules. That requires the fintech to keep accurate records of who owns the money. The coverage protects you if the partner bank fails, not if the fintech fails.
How much does a business wire transfer cost?
In our data, a domestic outgoing wire costs $0 at Mercury, $8 at Relay, $15 at Axos (two a month reimbursed), Bluevine, Found and Lili, $20 online at Truist, $25 at Chase and Capital One, and $30 at Bank of America, Wells Fargo, U.S. Bank and TD. PNC publishes only a $95 branch price. Incoming wires cost $14 to $15 at most big banks and $0 at the fintechs, Axos and Wells Fargo Initiate.
Sources
- Chase: Business Complete Banking fee schedule
- Bank of America: Business Schedule of Fees
- Wells Fargo: Initiate Business Checking account guide and Business Account Fee and Information Schedule
- Capital One: Business Basic Checking key services and charges
- U.S. Bank: Business Pricing Information
- PNC: business deposit account fees
- Truist: Business Deposit Accounts Fee Schedule
- TD Bank: Business Simple Checking account guide
- Axos Bank: business deposit account agreement and schedule of fees
- Relay: pricing and adding cash to your Relay account
- Mercury: pricing, FAQ and company structures Mercury supports
- Bluevine: plans and pricing
- Found: pricing and cash deposits
- Lili: Sunrise account agreement and fee schedule
- Novo: fee schedule
- FDIC: Your Insured Deposits
- FDIC: Banking with third-party apps
Checked on October 25, 2026 against the banks’ published terms and irs.gov. Offers, fees and tax rules change; the bank’s own documents and the IRS always prevail.
